The adventures and musings of an aspiring shoe designer

Vision Boards Pt. 4

Vision Boards part 1, part 2 and part 3

We’ll start at the top middle “Behind all this, some great happiness is hiding.” — Yehuda Amichai

This makes me feel better every time I have some crisis in my life or things aren’t going my way I look to this and I feel better.

Then underneath that “The sun vs. the wind; gentleness and friendliness is always stronger than fury and force.”  Fable author unknown.

Just in the last couple of years have I been able to understand the wisdom and truth in this, I guess that means I’m starting to get it.

On the left bottom corner is a note I typed up after listening to my favorite speaker Wayne Dyer.  When I get lost this helps me put things into perspective.

If you reduced the world’s population to a village of 100 and kept the same percentage ratios, this is what that village would look like:

57 would be Asian

21 would be European

14 would be from the western hemisphere both north and south

8 would be African

52 would be female

48 would be male

70 would be non-Christian

30 would be Christian

89 would be heterosexual

11 would be homosexual

6 people would hold 59% of the entire world’s wealth and all 6 of them would be from the United States

80 would live in sub-standard housing

70 would be unable to read

50 would suffer from malnutrition (half of the world)

1 would have a college education

1 would own a computer

So………….

If you have food in the refrigerator, clothes on your back, a roof overhead and a place to sleep, you are richer than 75% of the world.

If you have money in your bank or your wallet and a dish with spare change, you are among than the top 8% of the worlds wealthy.

If you can attend a church meeting without fear, you are more blessed than 3 billion people in the world.

If you’ve never experienced battle, imprisonment, torture and starvation you are ahead of 500 million people in the world today.

If you have the opportunity to think as you choose to think, and worship as you choose to worship and you have a little bit of change in your pocket, your health and someone who cares about you, you really have a lot.  Remember this and be grateful every day for all that you have and perhaps a little more generous to those that are less fortunate than you.

 The calendar is courtesy of Dogs Deserve Better, they are a wonderful organization that I support, the founder Tamira Thayne is an Angel Among Us.

The next saying is “You will not be punished for your anger, you will be punished by your anger.” Buddha

Shelter dogs aren’t broken. They’ve simply experienced more life than other dogs. If they were human, we would call them wise. They would be the ones with tales to tell and stories to write. The ones dealt a bad hand who responded with courage. Don’t pity a shelter dog. Adopt one. And be proud to have their greatness by your side. ~dogsrule.com

I cry every time I read this and think of how many puppies are bred every day while wonderful “shelter dogs” get put down for no other reason than we don’t have enough homes. What’s even more perplexing to me is that so many dogs that were bred and sold become “shelter dogs.”  I absolutely refuse to live on this planet and not do everything in my power to change it.  Every time I look into my Jewel’s eyes I am reminded how great shelter dogs truly are.

The last saying is “Talent hits a target no one else can hit, Genius hits a target no one else can see.” — Arthur Schopenhauer

Every time I read this I laugh because I hear the little voice in my head saying well you’re either a genius or you’re crazy, we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

