The adventures and musings of an aspiring shoe designer

What’s your Perception?

Perception ….How much of our lives are controlled by it? I’m starting to think that perception is possibly the single most powerful force in our lives. I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately; it seems everywhere I go I am getting the message that perception really is everything. I have been aware of this for a while but am just starting to understand how much our lives are reflective of our perceptions. Here is a poem that’s been a favorite of mine and I think it illustrates exactly what I’m saying.

The Cookie Thief

 Valerie Cox

A woman was waiting at an airport one night,

With several long hours before her flight.

She hunted for a book in the airport shops,

Bought a bag of cookies and found a place to drop.

 

She was engrossed in her book but happened to see,

That the man sitting beside her, as bold as could be.

Grabbed a cookie or two from the bag in between,

Which she tried to ignore to avoid a scene.

 

So she munched the cookies and watched the clock,

As the gutsy cookie thief diminished her stock.

She was getting more irritated as the minutes ticked by,

Thinking, “If I wasn’t so nice, I would blacken his eye.”

 

With each cookie she took, he took one too,

When only one was left, she wondered what he would do.

With a smile on his face, and a nervous laugh,

He took the last cookie and broke it in half.

 

He offered her half, as he ate the other,

She snatched it from him and thought…oooh, brother.

 This guy has some nerve and he’s also rude,

Why he didn’t even show any gratitude!

 

She had never known when she had been so galled,

And sighed with relief when her flight was called.

She gathered her belongings and headed to the gate,

Refusing to look back at that thieving ingrate.

 

She boarded the plane, and sank in her seat,

Then sought her book, which was almost complete.

As she reached in her baggage, she gasped with surprise,

There was her bag of cookies, in front of her eyes.

 

If mine are here, she moaned with despair,

The others were his, and he tried to share.

Too late to apologize, she realized with grief,

That she was the rude one, the ingrate, the thief.

 

I am sure you can relate. I know I’ve been a cookie thief more often than I would care to admit and so many times we will never even know. This got me thinking about how much we all say we want great things in our lives but, how true is that really, think about it. We strive, we work, we save, we dream, we struggle, we complain, we blame everyone but ourselves.

I guess what I am saying is that if we can’t control a lot of the things that go on in our lives the one thing we always have one hundred percent control of is how we perceive our world. So my question is if the perception is up to us why don’t our perceptions match what we want?

In other words if we have a choice to think what we want and all of it is our opinion then why don’t we choose the thought that gets us closer to what we want or the thought that makes us happy? What I notice for some reason it’s so easy to choose the thought that makes us mad or the thought that keeps us stuck.  So who really is standing in the way of what we want?  How much better off would we be if we cut the other guy some slack and assume that he has good intentions?

What’s even more baffling is that many of you, myself included probably have had this epiphany and then go right back to your old perceptions. I know I have heard all of this many times before most of it coming from Wayne Dyer but, for whatever reason I seem to forget and continue on with my old perceptions. So I thought I would write about it and maybe this time I will remember.

Comments on: "What’s your Perception?" (6)

  1. KJ, this is awesome! Thank you for posting it!

  2. I try to keep Hanlon’s Razor in mind.

    Never attribute to malice that which is adequately explained by stupidity.

    or supposedly said by Napoleon:

    Never ascribe to malice that which is adequately explained by incompetence

    This corollary is somewhat related to people who are paranoid and think others are out to get them when the other party is only indifferent, ambivalent or uninformed. Really annoying when someone is trying to corral me into a free consult about their line and I’m trying to be polite but the other person thinks you’re out to copy their idea.

    • Hi Kathleen,

      I have never heard of Hanlon’s Razor but I do agree completely, we never really know what the “other’s” motivation is. I am trying to remember this but, I have to say it is difficult seeing that we all have a tendancy to place so much importance on ourselves that we just assume we are the reason someone does something. I guess it doesn’t occur to us too much that we may not even be a thought at all. I like your somewhat related link, very interesting.

  3. Perception really has a lot to do with how we see the world! Great and insightful post, thank you!

    • Hi Sierra,

      Thank you for your very kind comment. I apologize about the lapse in time in my response, perhaps today’s post will explain. Have a nice day, Kathy Jo

Leave a Reply

