The adventures and musings of an aspiring shoe designer

Synchronicity

While I was learning IT recruiting I also was attempting to prepare myself for the shoe world on many other levels.  I had started taking art classes because I had and still have difficulty with perspective and other artistic nuances.  I am not one of these people who can sketch out a beautiful shoe in minutes, I find it quite difficult to put onto paper what I envision in my head.  I don’t know why I have such difficulty but I have yet to find a teacher that is able to get my brain to comprehend what apparently others are able to with little explanation.  Either way I don’t let my inability to draw properly get in the way, I just have to work harder at it.  On a side note remember this when I share my drawings and don’t say I didn’t warn you about the perspective thing. 

As has happened just about everywhere I go I find that I run into people who are very supportive and this art class became not only a place for me to draw but a place to dream with my fellow art students.  One day a young girl came in to make up a class, she saw some of my drawings and commented “oh, I work for a lady that works for a famous shoe designer”, REALLY ARE YOU KIDDING ME?  Of course she had my attention, in fact I think I might have scared her a little because she said to me “how about I take your name and number and I will give it to my boss.”  She told me that her boss was a sales rep for this designer, she couldn’t remember the designers name but that this rep spent time in Italy approving the line and so on.  This was so exciting it really felt like I had hit a breakthrough she didn’t give me any information more than that and being as young as she was maybe 16 or 17 I thought maybe it was too good to be true.  Turns out that it was too good to be true I never saw that girl again.

Then one day while chaperoning a field trip I was discussing this with a fellow mom chaperone and she said “I know that lady she works for Taryn Rose, I can get you her name.”  Coincidence?  I don’t believe in coincidence as this was not by a long shot the first time something like this had happened.  By the way in science, this term is generally used in a more literal translation, e.g., referring to when two rays of light strike a surface at the same point at the same time. So coincidence is not so surprising after all and I had enough proof that when you are on the right path many things seem to fall into place perfectly.

This mom ended up giving me a first name and a hobby the lady had and with that information I was able to find her.  I was a recruiter so I had been learning how to find people even if they weren’t looking for a job so another useful skill picked up while recruiting.  I had her number, address and name and I had it for about 6 months.  I don’t know what happened but I got scared, too scared to call her.  What was I going to say “hey you don’t know me but I’m some lunatic that wants to start designing shoes, I have no experience and don’t even ask me how I found you.”  I froze and literally could not call her I stared at that number for over six months and every time I attempted to make the call I chickened out.

Comments on: "Synchronicity" (2)

  1. Hi

    Probably your draw are not very good, but your write is…
    when you will succeed on the shoes business, please write your stories in a book, will be a best seller.

    And please make the call I wont know the end of this story!!

    vittorio

Leave a Reply

