The adventures and musings of an aspiring shoe designer

Vision Boards Introduction

I have been keeping a vision board for a few years now and I have encouraged my son to do the same.  For me I put anything on it that I want to stay conscious of, it has grown so full I am adding another because I can’t bear to take anything down.

On a side note; I have no problem getting rid of stuff or clutter, as of late my thinking has been that things are in our lives while we enjoy and use them. When we no longer need or enjoy them pass them on to someone who does.  I keep going back to a quote from Edwene Gaines in her book The Four Spiritual Laws of Prosperity.  She says “what about all the people who go without or are starving? Well, I would have to say that enough fruit falls from the trees and rots on the ground daily to feed the world, our problem is distribution.  If we made it a priority to get the food to those in need we could solve many problems that exist on this Earth.”  

I thought it would be fun to share my vision board with you and if you happen to have one, I would love to have you share it.  If you don’t have one I recommend getting one, if nothing else but to put a smile on your face as you pass it.

I will break it down into sections for other posts.  Jennifer Aniston and Oprah Winfrey will show up all over the board because when I first had the idea to start this company I immediately had the thought that somehow they would be a part of it.  What I mean by that (although I would love to be on Oprah) she has been on the journey all along.  I spent a lot time thinking about what kind of company I wanted to build and Oprah came to mind because she is the example of the American Dream. I can’t think of another that captures so fully what it means to live in America than Oprah. 

Jennifer Aniston has always been someone I’ve admired, obviously I don’t know her personally but she seems to be the kind of person you would want for a friend.   I love that she looks just as at home in jeans and a t-shirt as she does on the red carpet.  That is why I had her in mind when thinking of my company, although I tend to have red carpet designs for a lot of my shoes, I spend most of my days in the real world ie.. jeans and t-shirts. I also found that after her divorce I admired her even more because of her quiet dignity.  In the face of what she was immersed in I wonder how many could show such grace. So even more she become the underlying inspiration for the company. 

I want Ventrano to invoke thoughts of living the dream, dignity, beauty and grace; not only with our designs but in how we operate the business.  I have spent a lot of time at other companies and have seen the mistakes that they make so I fully understand how important service is, in my opinion your product and your service are equally important.

Jenny McCarthy shows up with a quote “how you’re working miracles” from an article about her work with autism, I think we all are here for many things and it’s important that each of us contribute in the way we feel called to do.

Drew Barrymore‘s million dollar miracle is another reminder to me about how much one person can do.

You will see several of these cards that were left on the pillows on a vacation to Cabo a couple of years ago.  This one says “Choose a job you love and you will never have to work a day in your life.” Confucius

The typed quotes are from Wayne Dyer “The last suit you wear doesn’t need any pockets” I wanted that to always remind me that you are here to live, enjoy and share. You can’t take it with you so spend your life giving it away.  The other quote that you can only see part of says “I left the tribe a long time ago” meaning I march to my own drummer, the less I care about what others think the happier I become.

Comments on: "Vision Boards Introduction" (1)

  1. […] a comment Vision Boards part 1, part 2 and part […]

Leave a Reply

